Relationships can have their trying times; however, there are some events no one expects to go through. An agreement with your partner may have turned heated resulting in law enforcement getting involved. Allegations of domestic violence are made, and you are suddenly dealing with criminal charges that not only sever your relationship but also could result in serious criminal penalties.
Based on the circumstances surrounding the situation, various criminal laws in California could apply to the situation. If one is charged for battery under California Penal Code Section 243(e)(1), a conviction could result in a fine up to $2,000 and imprisonment for up to one year. For this charge, it is possible to seek a sentence of probation and participation in a batterer’s counseling services.
In contrast, a conviction under 243(d), which reflects a greater degree of harm suffered by the victim, penalties could involve imprisonment up to four years and a restraining order. A felony conviction under Section 273.5, which involves willful conduct leading to corporal injury to a partner or family member, could result in imprisonment up to four years and a fine up to $6,000.
Because an allegation of domestic violence could result in serious penalties, it is important to consider your defense options. With regards to a physical altercation, one could claim self-defense in a combative situation with an intimate partner.
Being accused of domestic violence could completely alter your life on both a personal and professional level. Even when false claims of domestic violence are made, you could still experience hardships, as it could impact other areas of your life, such as child custody. Thus, it is vital to fully understand what rights and options you have when it comes to initiating a defense against domestic violence allegations. This could ultimately help you clear your name, avoid penalties and protect your reputation.